We traveled down the Cornish peninsula to spend the morning at St. Ives. A walk through Trewyn Gardens was a pleasant "welcome" to the charming artists' colony.
We walked through St. Ives to Porthmeor Beach - our destination: the Tate St. Ives, which opened in 1993. The 3-story building lies on the site of an old gas works and is the second regional gallery in the Tate Gallery network, focusing on modern and contemporary art.
After leaving St. Ives, we stopped for tea and scones at the Heskyn Mill Restaurant, a restored 18th Century corn mill located at Tideford, Cornwall.
We learned that there have been 3 stone Abbey churches on this location in Glastonbury. The site we visited dates from 1184 until 1539 when the Abby was seized on the orders of King Henry VIII during the Dissolution of the Monasteries. It was demolished gradually and used as a "quarry" for building stone. In the abbey grounds are the reputed graves of King Arthur and Queen Guinevere, which were "discovered" by the Glastonbury monks in the 12th Century.
The Abbot's Kitchen, with an octagonal roof, is one of the Abbey's few remaining complete buildings.
(blog entries by Heidi Hutson)